Skip to content
December 16, 2012 / benrovik

COUNTDOWN TO FREEDOM: Where I began

12-27-12 to 12-29-12

I did a quick search for ways to promote the free days with Aloft and came across Jeff Bennington’s post on how he’s made KDP Select work for a year.

I’ve seen a bunch of posts and comments like this that talked about how great KDP Select was for visibility, with sales stats to prove it:

“Here are my approximate year-over-year sales records for Sept/Oct 2011 & 2012 respectively:

Sept. 2011 – 2,238 units (published 2 new titles that month)
Oct. 2011 – 901 units
Total Sept/Oct 2011 = 3,139 units (includes UK)

Sept. 2012 – 24,700 units (19,500 free/5,200 paid or rented)
Oct. 2012 – 10,082 units. After Reunion freebie (10/28) I expect to exceed 26,000 units!
Total Sept/Oct 2012 = 44,864 units (Does not Include UK or other countries)”

These make me feel great for the author like Jeff who’s enjoying such success, but they’ve always left me a little bewildered. Is the fact of having a book free on Amazon really so powerful? Does this just automatically happen when you’re lucky and your book is good?

What I loved about Jeff’s post is that he went on to say exactly what he does to achieve and sustain numbers like this.

For starters, he has all his books in KDP Select and rotates the promotions. People who snag one for free are very likely to at least look at his others. “Books Sell Books.” That’s one reason I chose to release the Petronaut Tales individually instead of waiting until I had a larger, novel-length collection. They’re promotional tools to attract more eyeballs (in addition to being stories I wanted to tell about characters I wanted you to meet.)

I’m not quite ready to put all my books in KDP Select.  That’s why his next point was much more appealing to me:

“What’s my system? I promote my free book. I don’t just tweet about it. I don’t just blog about it. And I don’t just tell my facebook peeps. I actually list and/or pay to advertise it in as many books sites as possible. Some sites are free and some require cash. I usually budget anywhere between $70 to $100 per promotion (every 3-4 weeks). Below you’ll find a list of the primary sites I use. I rotate my usage of these sites every 90 days. That’s it.”

And then he goes on with an actual list of where he promotes and what services they offer. So direct! So helpful! So accessible!

Let it be said that I’ve done essentially no promotion of my books until now, aside from setting up this blog and telling people I know. So I admit to being a little overwhelmed by this list of two dozen sites I’d never heard of offering services I’d never considered.

But they’re actually not scary, and most of them are, indeed, free. Thanks to Jeff, I know who to reach out to to get the word out about my particular promo to tens of thousands of readers who live for freebies.

I’ll talk more about the specific sites I used soon, and what it involved, to further demystify all of this. Consider this series a video of my baby steps into the promotional scene.

And it all ends on 12/29/12

Leave a Reply

