Skip to content
September 22, 2012 / benrovik

Blurb in the Laurel Leader!

Hey hey!  The Laurel Leader, a local paper, put out a little plug for Mechanized Wizardry:

Local author Ben Rovik has written a fantasy series, “Mechanized Wizardry.” In the books, wizards square off against gas-powered knights in a mounting struggle between the magic of the past and the technology of the future.

Rovik and his wife have lived in Laurel for several years. He is an award-winning playwright but has decided to focus on writing fiction at this point in his career. You buy Rovik’s books at Amazon.com.

Many thanks for the love!  Every little bit helps an indie type like young Ben Rovik.

Contact Blog Twitter Facebook
4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christian / Oct 18 2012 11:48 am

    I just finished listening to Mech Wiz book 1 and I loved it so I decided to come by your site to see what else you had in store. I can’t tell you how shocked I am to see you live in Laurel given that I grew up in Bowie, MD and lived in Laurel myself for a few years before ultimately ending up in NJ.

    I really like this little world you’ve crafted and eagerly await more tales from it. It also strikes me as something that would be a lot of fun to campaign in a D&D type of setting.

    Congrats on the accolades and keep being awesome 😀

    • benrovik / Oct 18 2012 5:25 pm

      Hey Christian– Great to hear that you’re a local guy! I’ve lived all along the 95 corridor, from Gaithersburg to Baltimore. Laurel’s relatively inexpensive (as the DC area goes) and an easy drive to most places we want to go. My wife and I have been happy here for several years now.

      I’m so glad you liked The Wizard That Wasn’t! I have a favor to ask, if you’ve got a moment. Would you mind leaving a review on Podiobooks? It can be as simple as copy-pasting your comment here over to http://podiobooks.com/title/the-wizard-that-wasnt-mechanized-wizardry-book-1/ . The more comments the book gets, the more people are likely to see it when browsing!

      So you know, Book Two, The Mask And The Master, is currently free at Smashwords. Pick it up, and feel free to share the link around! https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/benrovik

      You’re right; I should work up a Petronaut prestige class 🙂

  2. Christian / Oct 18 2012 7:35 pm

    Yes you should, it would be a lot of fun. I thought that w/ the new podiobooks site that the comments/likes thing was disabled. I’m happy to see it’s not. Your review has been added sir.

    On an unrelated note, every year in the early spring up here in Northern NJ is the Steampunk World’s Fair and next year I plan on going. I’m thinking highly of coming up w/ my take on a set of Petronaut armor, maybe I can convince my wife to be a tech 😀

    • benrovik / Oct 18 2012 9:20 pm

      Much obliged for the review, sir.

      Yessss! Seeing real-life ‘nauts and techs would make my year. Please send pics if you do. In the meantime, let me know if you do any sketches/models; I’d be happy to trade advance copies of upcoming stories in exchange for art to feature here on the blog.

Leave a Reply

